All Board members serve in a part-time, independent and non‑executive capacity.

Ms Jillian Broadbent

AO Chair

Ms Broadbent has had a distinguished career in the banking sector. She was a member of the board of the Reserve Bank of Australia from 1998 to 2013. In 2003, Ms Broadbent was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for service to economic and financial development in Australia and the community through administrative support for cultural and charitable groups.

Ms Broadbent also serves on the board of Woolworths Limited, is chair of the board of Swiss Re Life and Health Australia Limited and chancellor of the University of Wollongong. She has been a director on the boards of ASX Limited (2010-2012), Special Broadcasting Corporation (SBS), Qantas Airways Limited, Westfield Property Trusts, Woodside Petroleum Limited (1998-2008) and Coca-Cola Amatil Limited (1999-2010).

Ms Broadbent was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2012 for five years.

Mr Paul Binsted


Mr Binsted has extensive experience in investment banking and other aspects of corporate financial advice. Mr Binsted’s breadth of experience comes from his previous position as managing director and joint CEO of Lazard in Australia and senior roles with other investment banks, including Citigroup Australia.

Mr Binsted was a member of the Australian Financial Forum (Johnson Report) Panel of Experts into growing the Australian Financial Services Industry. He is also a former chairman of both the State Rail Authority of NSW and the Sydney Ports Corporation.

Mr Binsted was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 1 February 2013 for five years.

Mr Ian Moore


Mr Moore was a member of the CEFC Expert Review Panel in 2011 and 2012. He has 22 years of banking and finance experience, predominantly at Bankers Trust. He was the head of the Bankers Trust corporate finance business and a member of the bank’s Credit Committee.

Mr Moore was previously a board member and on the audit committee of the responsible entity for four listed and one unlisted Challenger Infrastructure and Property Funds. He was also previously on the advisory committee for the Challenger Emerging Markets Global Infrastructure Fund and was a board member and chair of the risk committee of hedge fund Artesian Capital Management.

Mr Moore was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2012 for five years.

Ms Anna Skarbek


Ms Skarbek is CEO of ClimateWorks Australia. She has previously worked in investment banking in London, at Climate Change Capital, and in Melbourne at Macquarie Bank, and as senior policy adviser to the Victorian Deputy Premier.

Ms Skarbek is also a trustee of the Sustainable Melbourne Fund, and a director of the Green Building Council of Australia. She is a member of the Grattan Institute’s Energy Program Reference Panel, the Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists and the Vivid Economics Advisory Group. Ms Skarbek is also a former director of the Carbon Market Institute, Linking Melbourne Authority, Amnesty International Australia and The Big Issue Australia.

Ms Skarbek was a member of the Australian Government’s Energy White Paper Reference Panel, Land Sector Carbon and Biodiversity Board and NGO Roundtable on Climate Change.

Ms Skarbek holds First Class Honours Degrees in Commerce and Law from Monash University and is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms Skarbek was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2012 for five years.

Mr Andrew Stock


Mr Stock is an experienced professional, having spent more than 40 years in the energy sector, including in senior management roles in electricity and gas, petroleum and petrochemical businesses in Australia and overseas. Mr Stock is also a director of Horizon Oil Limited, and chair of the Energy Advisory Boards at Adelaide and Melbourne Universities.

Mr Stock is a past director of Alinta Holdings, Geodynamics Limited and Silex Systems Limited. In his previous long career at Origin Energy, Mr Stock was responsible for Origin’s major capital developments in upstream petroleum, power generation and low emissions technology businesses.

Mr Stock was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2012 for five years.

Mr Martijn Wilder AM


Mr Wilder is head of Baker & McKenzie’s Global Environmental Markets, Clean Energy and Climate Change practice. He is chair of the Baker & McKenzie Law for Development Initiative and a Professor of Climate Change Law at the Australian National University. In addition, Mr Wilder chairs the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) and is a director of the World Wildlife Fund (Australia) and the Climate Council. He holds advisory roles as chair of the NSW Climate Change Council, as a governing board member of the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Partnership (REEEP) and as a member of the Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists. He is also deputy chair of the Private Sector Roundtable of the Asia Pacific Rainforest Recovery Plan. Mr Wilder chaired the 2015 Independent Review Committee of the Victorian Climate Change Act, and was formerly chair of both Low Carbon Australia and TRAFFIC (Oceania).

In 2012 he was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in recognition for “service to environmental law, particularly in the area of climate change through contributions to the development of law, global regulation, public policy and the promotion of public debate, and to the community”.

Mr Wilder holds a Bachelor of Economics (Hons) from the University of Sydney, LLB Honours from the ANU, LLM from the University of Cambridge and has studied at the Hague Academy Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International Relations. He is also a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Wilder was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 1 February 2013 for five years.

Mr Michael Carapiet

Member to 18 December 2015

Mr Carapiet is chair of Link Group Limited, an ASX-listed company that provides global technology-enabled administration solutions for some of Australia’s largest superannuation funds and the world’s largest corporations.

He is chair of Insurance & Care NSW (icare) which delivers insurance and care services to people with injuries under the NSW Workers Compensation Scheme, the Lifetime Care and Support Authority, the Dust Diseases Authority, the NSW Self Insurance Corporation (SICorp) and NSW Sporting Injuries Compensation Authority. With $30 billion in assets and $26 billion in liabilities, icare is the largest general insurance service provider in Australia.

Mr Carapiet is chair of Smartgroup Corporation Limited, one of Australia’s leading salary packaging and novated leasing providers. He is also a board member of Infrastructure Australia. Mr Carapiet holds a Masters of Business Administration from Macquarie University.

Mr Carapiet was appointed with effect from 7 August 2012 for five years and resigned with effect 18 December 2015.